Thinking Strange Thoughts
A lot of people assume that I am a ex- Olympic athlete, but no, nothing could be further from the truth, infact when I was young I was hopeless at sports, I had no coordination and would often attempt to head the ball during cricket. But for me the worst thing at school was when we played soccer. The Sports Teacher would leave the choosing of the teams to his “blue eyed boys” Don and Roy, they were great at everything, the teachers all loved them, the girls loved them, even the school mascot George the Goat was infatuated with them, naturally I hated them.

The rest of us would stand in a big circle, whilst Don and Roy took it in turns picking their teams. I remember one particular day, it had come down to just the four of us left to be chosen, I recall those who had already been picked smirking at us with looks of contempt. I studied a blank piece of paper in my hand , trying to give the impression that it was something of great importance and I was not concerned about wether I got picked or not , but in reality I was dreading being the last one chosen, because lets face it ,if you are the last one chosen , you may as well have the word “LOSER” tattooed on your forehead. Still, as I glanced around at my three companions, I felt quietly confident.